Project team

The members of the project research staff of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation have carried out research in various archives and institutions in Russia and the Federal Republic of Germany. The project team combines professional competence and expertise in the area of Russian and Soviet history as well as many years of experience with exhibition work. A large proportion of the exhibition objects as well as an extensive amount of biographical material and background information were prepared by the staff of “Memorial” and placed at the exhibition’s disposal.

The project was overseen by Prof. Dr. Volkhard Knigge, director of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation, and Dr. Irina Sherbakova, director of the educational programmes of the human rights organization “Memorial”, Moscow. The scientific board of trustees of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation supervised the production of the exhibition with regard to content. Its members are internationally acclaimed historians and museum professionals. 


Prof. Dr. Volkhard Knigge, Dr. Irina Scherbakowa


Rikola-Gunnar Lüttgenau, Dr. Nikita Ochotin, Dr. Bodo Ritscher

Research staff

Wolfgang Röll, Dr. Sebastian Schlegel, Sabine Skott

Exhibition team at the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation

Coordination | WebsiteKatharina Schubert
Object supervision
Yvonne Kalinna
Olga Goleta, Katharina Haverkamp, Rosmarie Hofmann, Holm Kirsten, Dr. Julia Landau, Dr. Romy Langeheine
Research | Translations Dr. Vera Ammer, Dr. Maria Gussewa, Dr. Wladislaw Hedeler, Dr. Natalja Jeske, Dr. Gudrun Richter

Exhibition team at “Memorial”, Moscow

Scientific compilation Olga Blinkina, Svetlana Fadeyeva, Alyona Koslova, Natalya Malychina, Irina Ostrovskaya, Jan Raczynski, Anastasia Shevelyova
Scientific supervision
Prof. Konstantin Morosov, Dr. Nikita Petrov
Boris Belenkin, Galina Iordanskaya, Julia Reifschneider, Yelena Shemkova, Svetlana Chasovskikh, Natalya Vasilyeva, Svetlana Tsibulskaya

Scientific Board of Trustees of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation

Prof. Dr. Norbert Frei (chairman), Prof. Dr. Bernd Bonwetsch, Prof. Dr. Rainer Eisfeld, Prof. Dr. Mary Fulbrook, Prof. Dr. Detlef Hoffmann, Prof. Dr. Lutz Niethammer, Museumsrat Jutta Penndorf, Prof. Dr. Henry Rousso, Dr. Irina Sherbakova, Prof. Dr. Bernd Weisbrod, Prof. Dr. Hermann Wentker, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wippermann